top of page

EMILY FAYE - Emily Hare Interview


One of Jersey's most popular annual events, The Halkett Hoedown, saw country artist and singer-song writer Emily Hare make the most out of the picturesque island.

What’s been your favourite thing about Jersey so far?

I’ve been here for three weeks already, and it’s got to be the ice cream, the butter. But in terms of the countryside it’d be the beaches which are just amazing.

Why did you decide to shoot your album cover in Jersey?

Jay and I went and did a photo shoot on Hydrangea Avenue because the single is called ‘Open Road’ and we wanted to keep it English but we wanted it to be an open road as well. We went to loads of different locations in Jersey because we just wanted to get it done now so that we can speed up the release. Hydrangea Avenue was the best one. We did some on the 5 Mile Road in Jersey and it was kind of like the typical country dirt road but then I thought it’s not English enough. Loads of other country artists already have that look and I wanted to keep it me, because I’m proud of who I am and where I’m from.

What are you looking forward to most about performing here in Jersey at the Halkett Hoedown?

I’m looking forward to a Jersey crowd actually because I’ve been in Jersey before because of Jay (boyfriend) and he’s in loads of bands and I’ve seen the crowds. I’m just looking forward to playing my music to a new crowd and having a great time with the guys on stage, especially because it’s all Jersey musicians playing with me as well. I can’t wait for that.

What first got you into country music?

When I was a kid my dad made me mix tapes of his favourite songs but the ones I liked the most were Fleetwood Mac and Paula Cole. It was really kind of the TV show Nashville that made me make the decision, ‘right, country is for me.’ Just because of how amazing the songs are and the writing of the songs and the stories told in them, I love that.

You’ve recently recorded your first EP in Nashville; what was it like experiencing the birthplace of country music?

It was incredible! It was the most amazing experience and everyone there was so talented and so experienced.

A lot of country music is written about life experiences; during your song writing process, where do you draw influence from?

Sometimes I’ll just be sitting and feeling something and I’ll just need to write it down and get it out. Other times its inspiration from other people’s stories or your friend’s been talking to you about a guy and you think, ‘that’s such a good idea for a song.’ One time I just walked into a book store and I saw this title and I was like ‘oh that’d be a great idea for a song,’ just the title of a book and I’ll just build a song around that line.

Why did you chose to be a solo artist rather than working with a whole band?

I did say to my band at one point ‘do you guys want to be you know, a band?’ but they just said to me that they were quite happy being my band and that I introduce them onstage so they don’t need to have their names on it. I think also, it’s just me that does all the work so I think they wouldn’t enjoy doing all the extra bits that they’d have to do. I always try to encourage them to be ‘Emily Faye and the Something’s’ but they just don’t fancy it and they’re happy. Maybe one day we will be, who knows.

There are many acts performing today, who are you looking forward to seeing most?

Well quite a few of my friends are performing on the Chordz Stage so I’m really looking forward to seeing them. A lot of them I haven’t actually seen before so I think that’d be really cool.

Lastly, when can we expect your new EP to be released?

I’m thinking early next year, but the single will hopefully be out by the end of this year. October, fingers crossed. These things take a while sometimes, next year and early spring I think.

You can listen to Emily Faye's music here.

 

Follow FREAK on socials;

Facebook 💀@FreakMag666

YouTube 💀@Freak Magazine

TikTok 💀@Metallijaz

 

Follow EMILY FAYE on socials;

Facebook 💀 @TheEmilyFayeMusic

Twitter 💀 @EmilyFayeMusic

Instagram 💀 @EmilyFayeMusic

YouTube 💀

Spotify 💀

bottom of page